Everything you need to know about KFC Vegan Burger and Chicken

kfc vegan burger

KFC has finally released its vegan chicken. Dubbed “The Original Plant-Based Recipe,” the new meat-free chicken is made using a mixture of soy protein, wheat protein, pea protein, potato protein, vegetable shortening, and yeast extract. The meat replacement will soon be available at major KFC restaurants in the U.S.

What is KFC’s Beyond Fried Chicken?

KFC’s Beyond Fried Chicken is soy-free and gluten-free while maintaining the same great taste. The Beyond Fried Chicken sandwiches and tenders use a crispy blend of ancient grains, groundnuts, and spices for a crunch without frying.

Besides their nutritional information like 130 calories per piece – 18g total fat (2.5g saturated) – 1g sugar – 23g protein. It also has no trans fats or cholesterol, which means you’re getting less fat than what you would get from eating other fried chicken options like KFC original recipe chicken.”

What is KFC’s Beyond Fried Chicken made of?

KFC has revealed some big news with the addition of Beyond Fried Chicken. For those who may be wondering about its ingredients, KFC shared online that “the primary source for protein is soy and wheat proteins.” But the complete list of ingredients is below. 

Water, Enriched wheat flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Soy Protein Isolate, Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Enriched bleached wheat flour (Bleached Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Wheat Gluten, Natural Flavor, Yeast Extract, and less than 2 percent of Breadcrumbs (Wheat Flour, Distilled Vinegar, Sea Salt, Leavening (Sodium Bicarbonate), Inactive Yeast, Spice Extractives), Chili Pepper, Citric Acid, Garlic Powder, Leavening (Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Aluminum Phosphate, Monocalcium Phosphate), Modified Wheat Starch, Onion Powder, Pea Extract, Rice Flour, Salt, Spice, Titanium Dioxide (for color).

Is Beyond Fried Chicken vegan?

KFC is advertising their plant-based Beyond Fried Chicken as 100% plant-based, but it shares the fryers with real chicken. That means it could get contaminated during production, which would make them technically not so vegan.

Is KFC vegan chicken gluten-free?

KFC’s Beyond Fried Chicken is not gluten-free because it uses a similar breading to their popcorn nugget. However, the gluten in KFC’s Beyond Fried Chicken is considered to be below the detectable limit.

The chicken from these fried vegan chicken is 100% plant-based. That means all chicken used in this shop is made from vegetable ingredients and contains zero grams of gluten, according to KFC Beyond.

So if you’re going out for a fried dinner with family or friends, KFC Beyond fried chicken will make a healthy alternative to others on offer. And best of all, it doesn’t vary much in price! 

Is KFC Vegan Chicken healthy?

Firstly, it’s worth noting that newer KFC offers a vegan chicken option. It has the same tasty coating as the classic fried chicken so that no one will miss out on its signature taste.

That being said, the new meatless meal isn’t such good news for those with plant-based or gluten sensitivities since there is wheat and soy in each nugget. And unlike chicken nuggets found at most other restaurants, which only contain one protein source for flavor and texture purposes, this particular ingredient combination can cause some unpleasant reactions like bloating and gas.

If you’re healthy enough to eat these protein sources without any issues, then feel free to give them a shot, but if not, then you’re better off skipping out on these altogether.

KFC

Is vegan KFC vegan?

Yes and No.

KFC’s new vegan chicken option contains wheat and soy protein, so it’s not vegan.

To be “vegan,” the food must meet specific criteria, including no animal by-products of any kind (must contain vegetable matter). 

It also must not contact any animal products during processing, ingredient preparation, or packaging. But more importantly, the ultimate question is this: does it make sense to eat meat substitutes made of soy and wheat? Considering how many people are allergic to these substances, I say no.

What are vegan KFC options available?

KFC has a vegan burger option; however, this isn’t available in all restaurants. Some locations only offer vegan chicken to comply with requests for gluten-free and other dietary restrictions.

What is the KFC vegan burger made of?

The company says its vegan burger is a bespoke plant-based Quorn fillet made from Mycoprotein. It has been specially designed with KFC team members in mind. They are trained to use separate utensils for ingredients to avoid contaminating non-vegetarian foods.

The customization options on top of this already mouthwatering dish mean you can choose what toppings work best.

Although KFC offers a vegan burger, it’s not meant for vegetarians or vegans because they use the same cooking oil to fry their popcorn chicken.

kfc building

Why are KFC fries not vegan?

KFC’s new vegan burger is an exciting addition to the menu, but it’s not without its limitations. Despite KFC fries being partly made from potato and cooked in oil used for frying Popcorn Chicken, vegans have nothing to fear if they avoid eating other than fried foods at this restaurant. Both beans or corn qualify under their policy of “vegetarian-friendly” foodstuffs–but don’t get your hopes up about getting access to those delicious fries!

 

READ :  The Short Guide to What can you eat as a vegan?
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

You might also like

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *