Is ketchup vegan friendly and gluten-free?

vegan tomato

I don’t know much about ketchup, so I decided to do a little research. Here are my findings below. Read on! 

History of ketchup

Tomato ketchup was invented by a man named Henry John Heinz, who made ketchup popular in 1876 with his ketchup factory. It became a hit, and then ketchup could be found in every grocery store you walk into.

At first, ketchup didn’t have artificial preservatives. Henry John Heinz had his ketchup being sold in individual bottles, so it would be fresh, but he also had ketchup put into large jars where he added calcium disodium EDTA to preserve the ketchup. It works to preserve ketchup because it helps keep ketchup preserved once it is opened. Ketchup in a large jar can be found at most grocery stores. 

heinz

Ketchup can be made from fresh tomatoes or tomato concentrate. Tomatoes are on the vegan and gluten-free food list. In a bottle of ketchup, there can be sugar added such as high fructose corn syrup, which is also in ketchup and vegan friendly. Ketchup is also gluten-free, with ketchup that does not contain wheat; ketchup can range from very spicy to a sweet taste for ketchup.

Analyzing ketchup ingredients 

Let’s review the ingredients of ketchup.

Tomato concentrate- Tomatoes are on the vegan-friendly list, but if you want all-natural then go with fresh tomatoes, which are also gluten-free.

It is important to read labels when buying tomato concentrate because some brands include animal byproducts.

Sugar or high fructose corn syrup- Sugar is vegan friendly, as is high fructose corn syrup.

READ :  How to throw an EPIC Vegan Party

White vinegar and/or distilled white vinegar- White vinegar are vegan-friendly. Distilled white vinegar is not gluten-free, however, it is clarified of all wheat products, so it should be okay if used in moderation.

Sodium- Salt is vegan-friendly and gluten-free.

Spices- Most spices are vegan-friendly and gluten-free except for some curry powders which contain fish oil, so read labels to avoid this.

Other ingredients that may or may not be included, for example, calcium disodium EDTA as a preservative.

tomato1

So, is ketchup REALLY vegan friendly AND gluten-free?

Yes and no. Basically, ketchup is vegan friendly because there haven’t been any animal-based products added to ketchup. Ketchup also tends to be gluten-free, but if you do run across ketchup with wheat in them, it should not be issued as long as consumption is used in moderation. However, like many other condiments, ketchup isn’t healthy, so Keto ketchup or Organic ketchup are better options.

Trying to eat a whole foods plant-based diet? You may want to check out this ketchup recipe that is vegan-friendly and gluten-free.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

You might also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *