Is Ketchup Vegan Friendly? Hunt’s, Heinz, Great Value

Is Ketchup Vegan Friendly? I don’t know much about ketchup, so I decided to do a little research to find out if it is vegan friendly and gluten free.

Here are my findings below. Read on! 

History of Ketchup

Tomato ketchup was invented by a man named Henry John Heinz, who made ketchup popular in 1876 with his ketchup factory. It became a hit, and then ketchup could be found in every grocery store you walk into.

At first, ketchup didn’t have artificial preservatives. Henry John Heinz had his ketchup being sold in individual bottles, so it would be fresh, but he also had ketchup put into large jars where he added calcium disodium EDTA to preserve the ketchup.

It works to preserve ketchup because it helps keep ketchup preserved once it is opened. Ketchup in a large jar can be found at most grocery stores. 

Ketchup can be made from fresh tomatoes or tomato concentrate. Tomatoes are on the vegan and gluten-free food list. In a bottle of ketchup, there can be sugar added such as high fructose corn syrup, which is also in ketchup and vegan friendly. Ketchup is also gluten-free, with ketchup that does not contain wheat; ketchup can range from very spicy to a sweet taste for ketchup.

Analyzing Ketchup Ingredients: 

Let’s review the ingredients of ketchup.

Tomato concentrate- Tomatoes are on the vegan-friendly list, but if you want all-natural then go with fresh tomatoes, which are also gluten-free.

It is important to read labels when buying tomato concentrate because some brands include animal byproducts.

Sugar or high fructose corn syrup- Sugar is vegan friendly, as is high fructose corn syrup.

White vinegar and/or distilled white vinegar- White vinegar are vegan-friendly. Distilled white vinegar is not gluten-free, however, it is clarified of all wheat products, so it should be okay if used in moderation.

Sodium- Salt is vegan-friendly and gluten-free.

Spices- Most spices are vegan-friendly and gluten-free except for some curry powders which contain fish oil, so read labels to avoid this.

Other ingredients that may or may not be included, for example, calcium disodium EDTA as a preservative.


Is Ketchup Vegan Friendly?

So, is ketchup REALLY vegan friendly?

Yes and no. Basically, ketchup is vegan friendly because there haven’t been any animal-based products added to ketchup.

However, like many other condiments, ketchup isn’t healthy, so Keto ketchup or Organic ketchup are better options.

Is Heinz Ketchup Vegan?

Before we decide if Heinz Ketchup is vegan or not, Let’s first review the ingredients list.

Heinz Ketchup is made with :

  • SALT.
  • SPICE.

As we can see all these ingredients are plant-based.

So when it comes to Heinz tomato ketchup we can confirm that the product is suitable for a vegan diet.

Just to mention that Heinz company also states in their website that this ketchup is suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

Is Hunt’s Ketchup Vegan?

Hunts Ketchup is made with these ingredients:

  • Tomato Concentrate Made from Vine Ripened Tomatoes.
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup.
  • Distilled Vinegar.
  • Corn Syrup.
  • Salt.
  • Less than 2% of: Onion Powder.
  • Natural Flavors.[2]

The classic recipe of Hunt’s Ketchup is made with vegan ingredients, which leads us to confirm that Hunt’s Ketchup is vegan friendly.

Is Great Value Ketchup Vegan?

Great Value Tomato Ketchup is one of the best accompaniment to all backyard barbecues and more.

It is made with these ingredients:

  • Tomato Concentrate.
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup.
  • Corn Syrup.
  • Distilled Vinegar.
  • Salt.
  • Less than 2% of: Spices, Onion Powder.
  • Natural Flavors[3].

The ingredient list seems to be totally plant based and therefore, Great Value Ketchup is vegan friendly.

Is Ketchup Gluten Free?

Ketchup also tends to be gluten-free, but if you do run across ketchup with wheat in them, it should not be issued as long as consumption is used in moderation.

Trying to eat a whole foods plant-based diet? You may want to check out this ketchup recipe that is vegan-friendly and gluten-free.

Is Great Value Ketchup Gluten Free?

Great Value Tomato Ketchup does not contain any gluten ingredient and therefore it is naturally gluten free.

It is also free from artificial flavors or colors.

Is Heinz Ketchup Halal?

The ingredient list of Heinz Ketchup does not contain any ingredient forbidden by the Islamic religion?

Which means that Heinz Ketchup is Halal.

Final Thoughts:

Ketchup tends to be vegan friendly and gluten free.


Actual product packaging and materials may contain more or different information than that shown on our website. You should not rely solely on the information presented here. Always read labels, warnings and directions before using or consuming a product.

Table of Contents